Don’t worry… My son’s just shaving his legs!

No, really, he is!  As well as his arms, stomach, chest, and back… such is the life of a swimmer! 

The state of Florida has long been a leader in the sport of swimming, seeing as it is surrounded by water on three sides and has more lakes than I can count.  Swimming is essential for a Florida resident as far as I am concerned. I cringe whenever I see that another person has drowned in a backyard pool, as it is usually avoidable, especially if the child is old enough to be taught life-saving survival swim skills.

We didn’t have a house with a pool when my son was first born, and so as soon as he was two years old, I drove over to Lake Highland Preparatory School for their summer Swim America swim classes, which not only introduced my son to the water, but taught him valuable skills to stay afloat (and then swim) if ever he fell into a body of water. (Little did I know just how much of a fish that my son would become!)

Now my 14-year-old swims for the legendary Blue Dolfins and is old enough and fast enough to “shave down” for a big championship meet, like the Junior Olympics this weekend at the South Orlando Y facility on International Drive.  He’s swimming at meets against the likes of Ryan Lochte and other state, national, and world record holders.  (Much more fun for me to watch!)

My son owning his lane.

Now, for non-competitive swimmers, the idea of shaving the hair off a body to reduce any last drag in the water sounds ludicrous, but swimmers and coaches swear by it! I just happen to get a good chuckle as I watch my son fuss with the razor over the curves of ankles or the rough skin on knees. Hmmm… I wonder how many months of a clean bedroom and dedicated study time I could get in from him exchange for a picture of this?

Naw, even I am not that evil!

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Fun, Just for Me, Just Plain Weird, Sports, Uniquely Florida

Leave a Reply

