Win Tickets to Broadway’s Spring Awakening

The Top 5 is so excited about the arrival of one of the freshest Broadway shows to come to Orlando EVER!  Spring Awakening is indeed serving Orlando her coffee. A coming of age show, Spring Awakening deals with a variety of issues ranging from rebellion, sexuality, and more… but in a surprisingly uplifting, inspirational manner!

Winner of 8 Tony Awards (nominated for 11), this show is based on an 1891 play banned in England for nearly 100 years. The producers realized how relevant the content still is today and have combined it with a rocking musical score. Set against the backdrop of the repressive 19th century Germany, Spring Awakening focuses on the timeless tale of teenage self-discovery and budding sexuality through the eyes of three teenagers. But don’t expect the prim and proper, because the fusion rock music is enough to draw young and old alike into the tale.

No need to drink a Red Bull beforehand, as you will find yourself “awakened” by the show itself! Running May 18 – 23 at the Bob Carr, tickets can be purchased in advance starting at $25, or you might be lucky enough to win our Top 5 contest below!

Our contest has ended. Congratulations to Dawn for winning 2 premium tickets to opening night!

Thank you to all who entered and we hope you will buy tickets to join us at the show.

Check it out:

If you are curious as to whether this show is right for you and your teenager, check out the provided Parent’s Guide.

22 Comments

Filed under Broadway at Bob Carr, family, Music, The Arts

22 responses to “Win Tickets to Broadway’s Spring Awakening

  1. Yvonne

    My sister-in-law told me about this play – said it is a must-see with my two daughters! Now, as for my first love, I guess my first dog Peppy doesn’t count! Perhaps my first true love was my husband, as all the others seemed to disappear once he came into the picture.

  2. Ed Sims

    My first love was my fourth grade teacher Ms. Cahill. I am sure it wasn’t reciprocated though.

  3. Joe

    My first love was a red Jeep… and only after that came the woman I married, who was also my high school sweetheart.

  4. mountdoran

    I went as my close (gay) friend’s date to his high school prom. At the post-prom party, sat down next to a guy playing guitar. We talked all night and then dated for a year. He just reminded me on Facebook that this May 20th is the 20-year anniversary of that prom night. We’re both happily married, but there’s that little part inside that’s still 17 and remembers that cute, funny guy and his guitar.

  5. Julie

    My first love was in 5th grade, but alas it was unrequited! My three horses soon took his place in my heart…

  6. Mary

    He’s in his 60s now, but… my first love is quarterback on the football team, is 6′ tall with dark brown hair and green eyes, has a great build, makes straight As, comes from a well-to-do family, plays guitar, sings, is gorgeous and well-liked…and is married and has grandchildren and probably looks and acts a little differently now. Guess I do, too! Oh, well — he was a wonderful and dreamy first love!!!

  7. TmacFan

    My first love left me soon after so I’d rather tell about my second love, who I have been married to for over twenty years now. Thank you for sticking wit me, honey!

  8. Thanks for the heads up! I would love the chance to see Spring Awakening! I’m a sucker for broadway shows. 🙂

  9. Ann Ngo

    My first love is my current boyfriend and love of my life. I think it’s when you meet the person you are supposed to be with the rest of your life that you really learn what love is.

    We met in school and soon after went out with a group of friends, but oddly enough, no one else (conveniently) showed up. We chatted over cheese and wine. He ended up trying to kiss me that very night (which I bounced back completely shocked!). Little did I know just two weeks later, I’d be swept off my feet over a game of scramble and a dozen red roses. 🙂

  10. Laurie

    My first love happens to be my husband. We met on a cruise ship and married 6 weeks later. That was 20 years ago and he is still my first love and my best friend.

  11. Maria Diestro

    I had a love/hate relationship with my first love. The first 5 years we were friends, we would annoy each other every day at school. We competed in every way possible.

    It wasn’t til our junior year in high school that we got together. It was at the homecoming dance.. we didn’t even go together.. but he asked me to dance and told me how he felt about it. Secretly, i felt the same way. We both fell pretty hard for each other. Nothing else mattered during those 2 years. We weren’t meant to be with each other though.. but we still keep in touch via email. 🙂

  12. My first love was in high school. We were best friends before we became anything more. He used to send me a silly number code for I Love You to my pager that we made up. He still lights up my heart instead of my beeper when we run into each other now.

  13. Dawn Loves Spring

    My first, and some might say most important, love is and always will be my mother. I am currently unemployed and my mother is letting me stay with her until I find another job. She is the best and I would love to take her to see this show! With regard to Spring Awakening, I love the song “Mamma Who Bore Me” because it epitomizes a mother daughter relationship (at least sometimes).

  14. Sarah Henry

    My first love was Alex. I knew him from church and we were just friends. Then I moved 1000 miles from home to Orlando and we started talking over the internet. We would talk for hours every night. He helped me to not be so homesick. Sadly we grew apart being so far from each other, but a part of me will always love him.

  15. Tammy Currey

    My first love was in kindergarten, his name was Steven and I thought he was the cutest thing ever. But I was only 5, so nothing ever came out of it! I hope he is doing well though!

  16. Allie

    Joey Fatone from NSYNC 😛

  17. My first love was in 6th grade. We were very close best friends for a year and we became even closer. Our first kiss was around a camp fire and I was so nervous I hit him on the head because I forgot I was wearing a baseball cap :O

    It was adorable though:)

  18. Kristina M.

    My first love was one that was unrequited…back in the 8th grade. I settled with being friends 🙂 but sadly …I lost contact with him a year later once we began high school at separate schools…-_- I still wonder at times, what could of been.

  19. Laurel

    Alas, this will show my age…but my first love was David Cassidy on “The Partridge Family”. I even kissed the TV when he was on! However it was not meant to be and then I discovered Bobby Sherman, who was good too!

  20. Hayley

    I suppose my “first love” was this guy named Adam that I first met in sixth grade, nothing ever came of it…but I still keep in touch with him, and judging by the way things are going, it’s probably better that way :p

  21. Bess, if you don’t mind. Please help spread the word about winning ONE ticket for tonight’s Spring Awakening at my blog 🙂 Thanks!

  22. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

