Happy Half Birthday to Us!

Well, I am finally coming off the high of having been honored for Best Neighborhood Blog with an Orbbie from the Orlando Sentinel. I am particularly grateful because the “Top 5” blog is only 6 months old and really was the result of a few friends tossing a few ideas around…so I am thrilled with its fantastic reception! This award was a great way to celebrate the the Central Florida Top 5’s half birthday! To continue the celebration, we’ve decided to revamp our blog’s look. Let us know how you like it!

The “award ceremony” for the Orbbies was held at Eden Bar in Maitland and I attended with a few of the “Top 5” judges. There were also several other category winners present, and I enjoyed meeting and talking with them. I was actually humbled by their depth of knowledge about blogging and realized, yes, I am still a newbbie!

Dave Knechel writes Marinade Dave and was very gracious with sage advice. (And I totally loved his laid back attitude!) I also enjoyed meeting Mark Baratelli, whose blog The Daily City and tweets I love reading. I also met Kiran and her lovely husband Tarun of Chatterbox and Shutterbox. I was greatly delighted when she not only was familiar with the “Top 5” but told me that as fairly new arrivals to Central Florida, they used our site as a resource…love it! Here’s a link to the final list of Orbbie winners.

Here’s a picture of the winners:

Marinade Dave, Chatterbox/Shutterbox, The Top 5, DISUnplugged, The Daily City, and Tasty Chomps


Special thanks to Sophia Jones Photography for her photo of the winners. To see other photos from the night, be sure to visit her website.

Congrats to all the winners, and thanks to the Central Florida Top 5 fans…you are the best!

And here’s to another great six months of ranking wonderful Orlando events, delivering great things for you to do, and growing as a provider of fantastic information!

Oh, and enjoy the snow! Who says it doesn’t snow in Central Florida?!

5 Comments

Filed under General Info, Resident done good, Uniquely Florida

5 responses to “Happy Half Birthday to Us!

  1. How is it this is the first time I am seeing your blog! I have no doubt this will become an important resource I need to check every day. Great work!
    -Analog Artist Digital World

  2. Happy Birthday Top 5 πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the mention Bess, it was our pleasure meeting you and hopeful for a longer meet-up in the future!

  3. Bess – Gratz on the 6 months of solid blogging, oh yeah and a crap ton of Tweeting. Really appreciate your site and in particular the Twitter feed you so painstakingly update. Lots of great content and a significant source for Kamrin and I when trying to figure what is worth checking out around town. Keep up the good work and we hope to cross paths with you soon. Thanks visiting the site.

Leave a Reply

